Class of 2009 Celebrates Graduation

The Bloustein School honored 71 graduating students from the Class of 2009 at its 6th convocation held on May 17. The graduates included six doctoral candidates, 42 masters candidates in the urban planning and policy development program, and 23 masters candidates in public policy.

Congressman Rob Andrews, who represents the 1st District covering Camden, Burlington and Gloucester counties, delivered the convocation address. A member of the House Education and Labor Committee, Andrews authored laws creating the Income Contingent Repayment Plan and Direct Student Loans.

Graduates William LoSasso, from the urban planning and policy development program, and Emily Guskin, from the public policy program, presented remarks.

“We all came to school with lofty goals of improving the world and challenging the status quo,” said LoSasso. “Our professors responded by asking us to first challenge ourselves.  I think everyone here today met that challenge.”


Guskin spoke of the poor economy and job prospects, but said the graduates should nevertheless be thankful for the quality of the education they received at the Bloustein School. “…we’re not corporate CEOs expected to give up our corporate jets and our thousand-dollar wastebaskets,” she said. “We’re policy wonks and planning nerds, ready to fix all the problems we see in the world and lucky enough to learn from some of the best in the business.”


Professor Clinton Andrews presented three achievement awards for graduates of the urban planning and policy development program.  Anthony Durante was recognized for outstanding academic achievement, Kelly O’Brien received the outstanding student service award, and Nicholas Minderman was presented the annual AICP award for outstanding attainment in the study of planning.


For the Public Policy program, Professor Cliff Zukin presented awards to Emily Grant for outstanding academic achievement and to Saesha Carlile for outstanding service.  Professor Michael Greenberg presented the Susan S. Fainstein Distinguished Doctoral Scholarship Award to Josie Faass.